Thursday, March 27, 2008

[Inside AdSense] Another look at optimizations

We've given you many optimization tips over the years, and, as you know, it's important to consider how your ad implementations affect not only your click-through rate, but your users' and advertisers' experience as well. To support this, we'd like to remind you of the following two guidelines when optimizing your site.
1. Ads shouldn't be placed under a title or section heading in a way that implies that the ads are not ads.
For example, ads shouldn't be placed under titles such as "Dallas Business Opportunities" or "Today's Hot Deals". Placing ads directly below titles such as these implies to your users that the links in the ads are publisher-created content. The example below shows a placement that does not follow this guideline.


2. Ads should be easily distinguishable from surrounding content.
Similarly, you should not place an ad unit by a group of links that has identical colors and line spacing. Doing so may cause users to think the ad unit is content created by you. In this situation, we recommend using a different color for the ad titles or indenting the ad unit to help distinguish the ads from your own content. This screenshot shows an implementation that does not follow this guideline:


As you can imagine, users who click on ads that they think are publisher-created content may lose trust in your site and decide not to return in the future. It's important to keep their interests in mind, as well as your own.

Also, advertisers can tell which sites have a high conversion rate for them using Placement Performance reports. A conversion occurs when a click on an ad leads directly to user behavior that the advertiser deems valuable, such as a purchase, sign-up, page view, or lead. Advertisers have the option to exclude your site from their campaigns and may do so if it is not leading to conversions.

We believe these guidelines invest in the long-term health of the relationship between AdSense publishers, AdWords advertisers, and your sites' visitors, and that they will help ensure your continued success in the AdSense program.



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Posted By Inside AdSense Team to Inside AdSense at 3/27/2008 12:36:00 P
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Tuesday, March 25, 2008

[Inside AdSense] PIN without the pain

As you may know, we'll send you a Personal Identification Number (PIN)
by standard mail when your account first reaches $10 in earnings. This
PIN is used to help verify publisher accounts and addresses for
security purposes. We often receive messages from publishers concerned
about what to look for in the mail, and when they can expect to
receive it. In response, we've created the short video below which we
hope will help address these issues. It might not be a Hollywood
production but hey...even the greats started small ;)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TZJVcQw0c-E

If you don't receive your first PIN, you can still request up to two
more by following the directions at https://www.google.com/adsense/support/bin/answer.py?answer=14838
. Please note that aside from verifying your PIN, other holds may
apply to your account -- you'll need to remove all holds and generate
$100 in earnings before a payment can take place.

Posted by Arlene Lee - AdSense Publisher Support
Tuesday, March 25, 2008 at 10:40:00 AM

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Thursday, March 20, 2008

[Inside AdSense] Stick 'em up!

If you're well versed in webspeak, you're probably familiar with the concept of stickiness -- the quality that entices web users to stick around a given site. Here at AdSense, we're down with the web version of stickiness, but we've got a different kind of adhesive in mind: the kind that lets you take the AdSense logo a-go-go.

That's right, we're talking stickers.

We've printed up a batch of AdSense stickers, and we'd be delighted to send one or two your way, wherever you are in the world. The stickers are designed for laptops, but they'll work just as well for placement on mugs, skateboards, or temporarily on a shirt. (Note: turning a pal into a walking Google ad without their knowledge is not recommended.)


So how do you get one of these glue-backed masterpieces? Easy: send us a self-addressed, stamped envelope with enough postage to return 1 oz of sticker goodness to you from our office in California via standard U.S. mail. (Sorry, we can't help you calculate the postage to your location). Send your envelope, along with a note if you'd like, to:
Google AdSense
c/o Arlene Lee
1600 Amphitheatre Parkway
Mountain View, CA 94043
USA
Supplies are limited, so send your envelope soon! Then you can stick with AdSense wherever you go. (And one last thing to keep in mind: while we're flattered that you might want a whole box, note that we're only able to provide one or two per publisher.)



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Posted By Inside AdSense Team to Inside AdSense at 3/20/2008 11:34:00 A
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Wednesday, March 19, 2008

[Inside AdSense] Terms and Conditions clarification

Since updating our Terms and Conditions a few weeks ago, we've received a number of questions related to the new privacy policy and the display language within accounts. We'd like to address those two areas below -- but please keep in mind that as with any legal terms, you may consider consulting legal counsel if you have law-related questions about our Terms and Conditions.

Privacy policy

Unfortunately, we can't suggest any privacy policy language for your specific site, as all sites are set up differently and laws may vary across different countries. You might want to review online resources such as the Network Advertising Initiative (NAI), which suggests language for data collection of non-personally identifying information such as:
We use third-party advertising companies to serve ads when you visit our Web site. These companies may use information (not including your name, address email address or telephone number) about your visits to this and other Web sites in order to provide advertisements about goods and services of interest to you. If you would like more information about this practice and to know your choices about not having this information used by these companies, click here.
Further examples can be found in Appendix A of the NAI Self-Regulatory principles for publishers (PDF).

Display language

At this time, the Terms and Conditions are only available in one language per country -- whatever is determined as the legally binding language. As such, you might see that the Terms and Conditions are displayed in a language different from your Google interface.

You can read our updated Terms and Conditions in a different language, but please keep in mind that the Terms will vary according to the country or territory of your payment address. If you select a different country, the Terms and Conditions you see may not be identical to those appearing in your AdSense account, and therefore may not apply to you.



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Posted By Inside AdSense Team to Inside AdSense at 3/19/2008 09:35:00 A
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Monday, March 17, 2008

[Inside AdSense] Working with the Ad Review Center

As you may remember, we started enabling the Ad Review Center for publishers back in December to let you review ads placement-targeted to your site. We've recently enabled the Ad Review Center for more accounts and will continue rolling it out over the upcoming weeks. To get a publisher's perspective on the new feature, we chatted with Richard Tribe, Director of ski.com.au.

Australian snow enthusiasts can visit ski.com.au to learn about resorts and travel deals, as well as news and photos of conditions. The site also serves as a skier community, with videos, forums, wikis, and several blogs. Richard has been using the Ad Review Center to ensure relevant, high-quality ads appear alongside his content. He explains that "the Ad Review Center allowed me to see who was targeting my site, and I saw a wonderful array of high-quality advertisers in there... The Ad Review Center is a great way of managing the quality and style of advertiser you would like to have associated with your publication."


To highlight specific inventory, Richard has turned his custom channels into ad placements. For instance, he found that his live camera feeds of snow conditions drove significant advertiser interest, so he created specific snow camera ad placements. He elaborates, "That extra choice helps make my site look more attractive and allows advertisers to place their ads exactly where they want to place them." With targetable custom channels, Richard has given advertisers more control over where their placement-targeted ads can appear, and using the Ad Review Center, he ensures those ads are relevant to his site's audience.

To check if the Ad Review Center has been enabled for your account, visit the 'Competitive Ad Filter' page under the AdSense Setup tab and look for a green notification box.

When setting up the Ad Review Center in your account, we strongly recommend you keep your review preference set to the default of 'Run ads immediately', and review placement-targeted ads after they have run. Ads don't participate in the auction while they are awaiting review, and ads that you have blocked can't compete in the auction either. We ask that you consider the revenue implications before blocking ads or switching from the 'Run immediately' setting.

Happy skiing (and reviewing)!



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Posted By Inside AdSense Team to Inside AdSense at 3/17/2008 08:48:00 A
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Thursday, March 13, 2008

[Inside AdSense] Introducing Google Ad Manager

As part of our continuing commitment to provide publishers of all sizes with tools to improve revenue opportunities and productivity, we're excited to announce Google Ad Manager.

If you operate a site with remnant ad inventory as well as reserved ad inventory that you sell directly to advertisers, then Ad Manager is for you. It can help you sell, schedule, deliver, and measure directly-sold and network-based inventory. Google Ad Manager offers a wealth of features, including an intuitive user interface, automated yield optimization, and proven Google speed and reliability. Best of all, Google Ad Manager is free.

Ad Manager currently addresses the ad management and serving needs of publishers with smaller sales teams and effectively complements the DoubleClick Revenue Center, which is focused on publishers with large sales teams. We're excited to add DART for Publishers to our suite of products,and we're committed to the continued development and enhancement of DoubleClick's offerings.

To learn more or apply for Google Ad Manager beta, visit our website.



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Posted By Inside AdSense Team to Inside AdSense at 3/13/2008 10:09:00 A
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Wednesday, March 12, 2008

[Inside AdSense] Payment holds, held up

We've heard from a few of you that even though you've already reached $10 in earnings, you're not seeing the prompt to remove payment holds on your account. So we turned to our payments specialist Dan Marcus:
"Every day, our system runs a check to determine which accounts have reached $10 for the first time within the last 24 hours. Since there are a large number of accounts around the world that exceed the $10 threshold each day, our system sometimes doesn't immediately pick up all qualifying accounts. These accounts should be identified after 48 hours, but in rare cases, it can take a bit longer."
If it's been more than a week since you reached $10 and you still don't see a prompt on your Payment History page to select a form of payment, enter your tax information, or view the date your PIN was sent, let us know and we can investigate further. For more information about removing the holds on your account, feel free to visit our Help Center.



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Posted By Inside AdSense Team to Inside AdSense at 3/12/2008 09:59:00 A
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Tuesday, March 11, 2008

[Inside AdSense] Google closes DoubleClick acquisition

You may have seen today's announcement that Google has completed its acquisition of DoubleClick.

The combined company will offer more tools for publishers, enhance productivity and provide additional revenue opportunities so you can focus on creating more relevant content and improve the user experience on your websites. We will also work with our existing publishers to better monetize their inventory by combining DoubleClick's and Google's strength in inventory management, ad serving, and optimization.

If you have a DoubleClick account, rest assured that everything will continue to operate as usual, and that you'll receive the same support you're used to. For more information, please read our press release.



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Posted By Inside AdSense Team to Inside AdSense at 3/11/2008 10:38:00 A
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Friday, March 7, 2008

[Inside AdSense] Diagnosing and treating revenue fluctuations (Part II)

Welcome back to the second part of our series designed to help you
better understand revenue fluctuations. If you're just joining us now,
or if you'd just like to brush up on those reporting terms before we
dive in again, feel free to visit our previous post from earlier in
the week.

Choose the right treatment

You're finished investigating the cause of the revenue fluctuations,
and it's time to take action. Find the symptom you identified below
for suggested treatments.

Page impression changes

* Check for AdSense technical issues or public service ads (PSAs). If
ads aren't being served on your site, we aren't registering page
impressions.

* Don't miss out on search traffic. Use Webmaster Tools to make sure
that Google is properly crawling and indexing your site.

* Consider the promotions you have running for your site. Did an ad
campaign end, causing a drop in traffic? Has a popular site linked to
you, causing a spike in page impressions?

CTR changes

* A drop in CTR can be caused by a user interface (UI) that's not
optimized or by poor targeting. Readers won't click on ads they don't
see or find irrelevant. To improve the relevance of your ads, you
might want to try section targeting.

* Check for crawl problems. If our system can't crawl your page, we
can't serve relevant ads.

* If you've implemented or changed your ad server, check that there
are no new targeting problems.

* Have you changed the look and feel of your site? Follow our
optimization best practices whenever launching a site redesign. An
easy way to start is to match the ad colors to the design of your site
and choose a top performing unit such as the 300x250 medium rectangle.

* If your CTR has been in a slow decline, your readers may be
experiencing ad blindness. Try testing new ad formats, placements, or
colors.

CPC changes

* CPCs are determined by advertiser bids and are not directly under
publisher control. Most large CPC changes are seasonal. For example,
certain ad verticals attract more spending during the holiday or back-
to-school seasons.

* CPCs can also fluctuate as advertisers begin and end their
advertising campaigns.

* You can always improve your CPCs by choosing ad formats that support
all ad types: text, image, video, flash, and gadget ads. More
competition means higher advertiser bids.

Placement targeting revenue changes

* If overall targeted revenue is changing, determine what your average
placement-targeted revenue has been for the past few months. Your goal
is to determine if the changes in your recent earnings are part of a
trend or a short-term earnings fluctuation.

* Publishers can experience spikes in placement-targeted revenue when
advertisers run limited-time campaigns. For example, an advertiser may
run a large placement-targeted campaign only during the opening week
of a summer blockbuster movie.

* If you want to increase placement targeting over the long term, set
up ad placements. This will make it easier for advertisers to find and
target your site.

Finally, two more things...

Where are the changes happening?

Many AdSense publishers run multiple websites or have site sections
that perform very differently. For example, the article section of a
cell phone review site may have a higher eCPM than the forums.
Whenever you notice revenue changes at the account level, always
determine which of your sites or sections is causing the change. You
can set up URL and custom channels to track all the important parts of
your account separately. Knowing exactly what is changing and where
will allow you to make the smartest decisions about what to do.

Taking seasonal fluctuation into account

Take a broader view and look for historical fluctuations in the
metrics described above. Over the same time period last month or last
year, you may find similar volatility in your eCPM, revenue, or page
impressions. For example, you can compare the Mother's Day performance
of a flowers and gifts site for 2006 and 2007. Is your current account
performance consistent with the previous time range? If so, the
revenue change you're investigating might reflect a recurring pattern.

I hope this series will help you get the most out of AdSense, and the
next time your revenue changes, I hope it's for the positive.

Posted by Christian Ashlock - AdSense Optimization Team
Friday, March 07, 2008 at 9:08:00 AM

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Wednesday, March 5, 2008

[Inside AdSense] Diagnosing and Treating Revenue Fluctuations (Part I)

You love your website and you want it to thrive. You create content, manage your community, and keep an eye on your AdSense performance. If AdSense revenue is down, you're understandably concerned. If AdSense revenue is up, you're happy, but you want to know why. Revenue fluctuations are obvious enough when they occur, but the root cause isn't equally clear. It can be challenging for both new and experienced publishers alike to analyze their AdSense data and respond effectively to changes.

The goal of this post, and our follow-up later this week, is to help you understand the AdSense revenue model so you can diagnose and treat revenue fluctuations like an experienced MD.

Study up

The first step is knowing how the figures reported in your account (such as eCPM, CTR, and page impressions) interact to describe your total revenue. Think of each number as a variable in the revenue formula for your site. At the highest level, you can calculate revenue by multiplying your page impressions by the effective cost-per-thousand impressions (eCPM) and dividing by 1000.
Revenue = Page Impressions * eCPM / 1000

eCPM = Revenue / Page Impressions * 1000
The eCPM metric provides an estimate of how much revenue you can expect to earn for every 1000 page impressions. For example, if you serve 10,000 page impressions and earn $40, your eCPM is $4. If page impressions increase to 30,000, you can predict that you'll earn $120 given the $4 eCPM.

Most AdSense ads pay on a cost-per-click (CPC) basis, so eCPM is really a measure of your average ad performance. Breaking eCPM into the click-through-rate (CTR) and the average cost that advertisers pay per click (CPC) gives you a more accurate measure of performance.
Revenue = Page Impressions * CTR * average CPC
Once you know your average CTR and your average CPC, you can predict how much revenue you'll earn for a given amount of page views. You can also analyze your revenue by looking at placement-targeted ads versus contextually-targeted ads.
Total Revenue = Revenue (contextual) + Revenue (placement-targeted)
While contextually targeted ads always pay per click, advertisers can pay for placement-targeted ads by impression (CPM) or by click (CPC). To account for both of these bid types, you should look at the average eCPM for placement-targeted ads. More simply, you can just add placement-targeted revenue to your contextually targeted revenue.
Revenue = (Page Impressions (contextual) * CTR * average CPC) + (Page Impressions (placement-targeted) * eCPM (placement targeted) / 1000)

Revenue = (Page Impressions (contextual) * CTR * average CPC ) + Revenue (placement-targeted)
Even though we're looking at contextual and placement-targeted revenue separately, don't forget that these two types of ads compete against each other in the auction. We'll always show the best performing ad, regardless of targeting type, so more competition creates higher winning bids.

Identify the symptoms

Now you're ready to diagnose any revenue fluctuation. Just like the revenue formulas above, let's start simple and gradually get more complex.

The first question to ask is: Did either your page impressions or your eCPM change? You can compare trends in both page impressions and eCPM using the Advanced Reports in your account.


If your AdSense page impressions have declined, you should determine if traffic to your entire site is declining as well. A web analytics tool such as Google Analytics can provide you with this information. In addition, you should check your pages for unpaid public service ads (PSAs).

If your eCPM is down, you'll need to dig one level deeper and find out if your contextual or placement targeted ad performance has dropped. You can also find this data in the Advanced Reports tab using the options shown below.


Let's consider your contextual ads first. The two key metrics to investigate are CTR and average CPC. CTR is given in your reports, but you'll need to calculate your average CPC using your favorite spreadsheet. (My favorite goes without saying). Please keep in mind that this is still an average CPC for your account and doesn't necessarily correspond with the price paid by any specific advertiser. Once you've narrowed the change to CTR or average CPC you're ready to start treatment.

For placement-targeted ads, you should analyze how much total placement-targeted revenue you are receiving and the average eCPM. Changes in either of these metrics usually indicate that advertisers are beginning or ending campaigns targeted to your site. Again, placement-targeted campaigns are more likely to be short-term than contextual campaigns.

That's all we have time for today -- now that you have a better understanding of what factors can affect revenue, don't forget to check back later this week for the second part of this series. We'll be treating ways to treat revenue fluctuations based on the symptoms you've discovered.



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Posted By Inside AdSense Team to Inside AdSense at 3/05/2008 03:25:00 P
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Monday, March 3, 2008

[Inside AdSense] Building with AdSense

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eoZ9eFuIMzQ

When Les Kenny and his family launched their do-it-yourself (D.I.Y.)
website www.buildeazy.com in 2001 solely as a hobby site, they had no
idea of the impact Google AdSense would have on their lives.

Les had spent most of his life building in both Sydney and Auckland,
but his hobby was designing projects and writing about them. This
inevitably led to the Buildeazy website, where he posts D.I.Y.
woodworking and building projects. He caters to a universal audience
by using general terminology and incorporating both metric (mm) and
imperial (ft and inch) measurements into all his projects. Les and
daughter Roseanne also wrote two successful kids D.I.Y. books
published in Australasia. They had intended to write more books, but
AdSense proved to be more lucrative.

In early 2004, Les incorporated AdSense into his website. Around March
2005, to his amazement, optimisation of the AdSense ad units
throughout the site doubled the earnings overnight. The income from
AdSense allowed both Les and his wife Jenny to give up their day jobs
and work solely on their passions and hobbies. It has also allowed all
of the family to get involved.

Les has spent a lot of time experimenting with his ad layout and
colour, making use of the Manage Ads feature and custom channels. He
found that the 300x250 medium rectangle was overwhelmingly the best
performing. Using custom channels, he was also able to remove some
units which weren't performing as strongly to reduce clutter on his
site.

"Most of my pages now consist of only two ad units -a 300x250 medium
rectangle at the top of the page and a 336x280 large rectangle at the
bottom of the page. I have found that a couple of well placed ads on a
page do better than a cluster of ads all over the page - and I guess
it is also more pleasing for the visitors."

Once the AdSense units are placed and optimised, everything takes care
of itself -- leaving Les and family to get on with what they enjoy
most.

Posted by Tim Egan - AdSense Australia Optimisation Team
Monday, March 03, 2008 at 10:58:00 AM

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